Home Page
From Department Head


We regard philosophy teaching as “providing an individual with a comprehensive perspective and questioning every life space, every way of life; providing ourselves with talking frankly and reckoning with ourselves and the world”. In this sense, philosophy teaching is raising wisdom traveller, who questions the value of philosophy in life and runs after wisdom, as a person who is mentally authentic and autonomous, who is free with his/her thoughts and life, and who also acknowledges the rights and freedoms of other people. Such a wisdom traveller, with his/her critical viewpoint and prejudice-free personality and identity, tries to understand, explain, change positively, and develop his/her culture, history, and their formation conditions. 
SAU Department of Philosophy, which was founded in 1999 in order to raise philosophers who will make contribution to Turkish intellectual life, who are free of prejudgements, and who have the ability of interpretation and independent thinking, inaugurated undergraduate education in the academic year 2001-2002, graduate education (within the body of Programme of Philosophy, Institute of Social Sciences) in the academic year 2002-2003, and doctorate education (within the body of Programme of Philosophy, Institute of Social Sciences) in the academic year 2009-2010. SAU Department of Philosophy, which targets to offer philosophical formation, in a different way from similar departments, with a content also embracing our cultural-scientific world, consists of four main fields of study:   

Systematic Philosophy and Logic 
(With sub-fields such as Ontology, Epistemology, Philosophy of Science, Ethics, Political Philosophy, Aesthetics,  Philosophy of Art, Philosophy of History, Philosophy of Religion, Philosophy of Language, Methodology, Classical Logic, and Modern Logic...) 
History of Philosophy 
(With sub-fields such as Ancient Indian and Chinese Thought, Ancient Greek Philosophy, Western Medieval Philosophy, Renaissance Philosophy, Western Modern Philosophy, and Contemporary Philosophical Movements...) 
History of Turkish-Islamic Thought 
(With sub-fields such as Pre-Islamic Turkish Thought, Islamic Philosophy, Sufism, 16th-18th Century Turkish Thought, and Contemporary Turkish Thought...) 
History of Science 
(With sub-fields such as General History of Science, History of Islamic Science, History of Ottoman Science, and History of Positive Science...)
Besides, Greek and Ottoman Turkish languages are involved in the curriculum as elective courses for the purpose of providing students with a background of classical languages required for philosophical thought. 

Students also may involve in ERASMUS programme in the following universities.

Holland ( Erasmus Rotterdam University)
Germany (Eberhard Karl's University of Tubingen)
Italy (Universita Degli Studi di Foggia)
Czech Republic (University of Hradec Kralove
Poland (University of Szczecin Faculty of Arts)
Poland (University of Lodz)
Slovakia (University of Presov),
Greece (National Technical University of Athens

In addition to philosophy courses, psychology and sociology courses of sufficient credits are given to our students so that they can become philosophy teachers at secondary schools. Since the academic year 2004-2005, our first year students -on a certain quota- have obtained the opportunity of getting foreign language preparatory education optionally. 
1 Professor, 3 Associate Professor, 3 Assistant Professors, and 7 Research Assistants, in total, 14 academicians work at our department. 
There are 705 matriculated students at the Department of Philosophy, which produced its first graduates in the academic year 2004-2005.

Assist. Prof. Dr. Tufan ÇÖTOK